neglect

31Jul08

Cookshooteat isn’t the only thing I’ve been neglecting. I’ve been practically absent from the entire internet for the last several months, and I apologize. I don’t have any good excuses beyond being both busy and lazy. In the meantime, I’ve been cooking — but never taking pictures, alas — and gardening. My herb garden has suffered from neglect as well. Over the last two years, I’ve been astonished at how well things like basil and thyme grow under my less-than-watchful eye; to be bluntly honest, I truly, truly suck at watering things. If the cat didn’t have one of those pre-filler food dishes she’d probably starve to death (okay, that’s not true, she is a master of annoying us until she gets what she wants, so she’d bring our attention to her plight soon enough). This year, though, while they’ve been growing just fine, I’ve been somewhat lax in my dead-heading duties, and my basil has gone completely (and somewhat excessively) to flower. Oops.

Now that I’ve finally broken out the camera again, I’m hoping to get back to posting here, although I can’t promise that it’ll be anything like regular. I don’t seem to have the self control that other food bloggers do that allows them to take gorgeous pictures of their food before eating it; I don’t have the patience to do anything but gorge. I’ll try to work on that.

In the meantime, I should probably go and do something about that basil.

3 Responses to “neglect”

  1. Can you eat the flowers, too? My basil looks the same. Maybe they can be a garnish.

  2. Glad to see you posting again!

  3. 3 jamaila

    Karen: I don’t know. I have this firm impression that after it flowers, the leaves go bitter and then the plant’s practically unusable. But I have no idea where I got that idea, so I could be entirely wrong.

    Julie: Thanks! Did I ever tell you that I think I left my serving spoons at your house? LOL!


Leave a Reply

