not a quiche man

22Feb08

My history with eggy dishes is not so good. Wee frittatas aside, most egg-based things turn out to be disasters for me. I’m not even all that good at just plain frying eggs. Fortunately for me, Don’s kind of an egg-frying Rain Man. Utterly incapable of creating anything edible otherwise, but makes perfect fried eggs without even thinking about it. Freak.

Anyway, I remained undaunted by my long history of eggy chaos, and for some bizarre reason I decided to make a quiche. Specifically, a crustless quiche, which therefore really isn’t a quiche, even though it’s not really a frittata either since you make it entirely in the oven, in a quiche (or pie) pan. Qui-tatta? Quichatta? Whatever. I found a recipe and fiddled around with it, and lo! It wasn’t a disaster! Nothing burned, the oven didn’t catch on fire, I didn’t spill egg all over the kitchen OR on the cat, and it even came out looking kind of picturesque!

Don hated it. He says he’s just not a quiche kind of guy. While I don’t know if that’s true — I’m pretty sure I’ve seen him eat quiche before, although it was crusted and delicious — I have to admit I wasn’t all that crazy about it either, at least for dinner. As one of the items on a brunch buffet, definitely; as part of a light lunch, with a light, peppery salad, totally. It’s just not a stand-alone dinner dish. Although I could see it as a side dish, if you’re the sort of person who serves quiche as a side dish at dinner (I can barely get a vegetable on the table, myself).

Leek and Mushroom Crustless Quiche
Adapted from Good Housekeeping by way of MSN

1 pound leeks (about 3 medium)
1 pint baby bella or crimini mushrooms, sliced
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
6 eggs*
1 cup milk
1 tablespooncornstarch
4 ounces Gruyère cheese shredded (1 cup)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 10-inch quiche dish or 9 1/2-inch deep-dish pie plate (or forget to grease it and freak out about it later, like I did — fortunately it came out fine, but probably only because my quiche dish is brand new).
To wash leeks, cut off roots and dark green portion of leaves and discard. Cut each leek lengthwise in half, then slice into approximately 1/4 inch wide pieces. Fill a large bowl with cold water, and toss the chopped leeks in. Swish them around, to allow the sand to sink to the bottom. You may need to repeat this step a couple of times with fresh water until your leeks are completely clean, as they can be very sandy. Drain thoroughly.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon butter in a skillet on medium until melted and lightly bubbly. Add leeks and 1/4 teaspoon salt, and cook 12 to 14 minutes or until leeks are tender and browned, stirring frequently. Transfer leeks to prepared quiche dish and spread evenly. Add remaining oil and butter to skillet and heat; then add sliced mushrooms and saute until tender, about five minutes, stirring frequently. Add to leeks in quiche dish, spreading evenly.

Meanwhile, in bowl, with wire whisk, beat eggs, milk, cornstarch, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper until well blended.

Pour egg mixture over leeks and mushrooms in dish and stir lightly to combine everything. Sprinkle with Gruyère. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean (it actually took about 45 minutes for mine). Cool on wire rack for 5 minutes.

*In an effort to make this a little healthier, I actually used two eggs and about a cup of egg substitute, which is usually just egg whites. I also used skim milk because that’s what we have in the house.

One Response to “not a quiche man”

  1. I’m totally a quiche person and this looks awesome! Can’t wait to try it… Also, your endive tapas look great. Now I just need to have a dinner party with overnight guests who will stay for brunch.


Leave a Reply

